What is this Blog?

Great question! What is this blog? The post prior to this was called “An Introduction” but it’s more a back story than an introduction to what this blog is and what I hope will make up future entries.

My name is Matt.  I was dumped from a five and a half year relationship about seventeen months ago.  I’ve considered myself single since then, though (read prior post) I have dated a handful of girls over the past yer and a half:  Four girls in New York, three girls in San Francisco.  Most of these cases were 1-3 dates, nothing too serious.  I’m still in love with the girl who dumped me seventeen months ago, but I like to think I’m on the mend.

I’m twenty six years old.  I’m not at that age yet where it’s ideal to settle down and start a family.  But I want to be in love again.  I don’t need to be in love, but I want it very badly.  I’m looking four a soul mate.  There are three billion girls in the world, a large majority of which are straight and roughly 11% are in the 22-27 year old age group that I hope to find The One in.

The title of this blog “Given Unsought” is a quote derived from Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night: “Love sought is good, but given unsought, is better.” That is, while you can go and look for the one you love, you’ll often find the best loves are the ones that you stumble upon.  My intention is not to manifest the love of my life deliberately, rather I hope to discover it.  I don’t expect to see it coming.

This blog is going to be my thoughts, aspirations and feelings as I seek out my soul mate: the woman I form a couple with, form a marriage with and form a family with.  It’s depressing to know that the girl I was once convinced would be that woman ended things 17 months ago.  But it’s also incredibly exciting to know that the girl, The One, is out there and that I have incredible things to look forward to.

I like to think that she’s looking for me too and, I hope, searching as fast as she can.

Leave a Reply

